Yangon Division

Location: Bordering Bago Division in the north and east. Gulf of Mottama in the south and Ayeyawady Division in the west, Yangon Division is situated between latitude 1620' north and 17 50' north and longitudes 3545' east and 9646'east in the southernmost part of the central plain.

Coco archipelago which is located in the Bay of Bengal is included in the Division. The Division's area is 3,927.15 square miles.

Topography and climate: Bago Yoma runs from north to south in the division. Kantbalu Mountain which is nearly 2,600 feet high is located in the northern border. Thc mountain range gradually slopes down in the south forming 500 feet above the sea level. Ridges formed with laterite can be found in Thanlyin. Twantay and Kungyangon townships.

Yangon Division has a tropical monsool1 climate. As the Division is located near the sea. there are only slight changes of temperatures in summer and winter. Average temperature of April which is the hottest month is 95.0 F. Daytime temperature rises from 100 F to 104 F. The coldest months -- December and January -- have an average temperature of 77 F. Night temperatures fall to 60 F. Average annual rainfall of the division is 103 inches. Rainy season lasts from May to October. Rain is heaviest in July and August.

Population, inhabitant, languages and religion: The estimated population of the division in 1996 is over five million. Various races of people are living in the division. The majority of the population is Bamar. There are also many persons of foreign descendants. Especially, there is a large number of Chinese and Indians. Majority of the inhabitants are Buddhists followed by Muslims and Christians. Myanmar is the main language.

Yangon Division is formed with four districts. which are, Yangon East District. Yangon West District, Yangon North District and Yangon South District. and 45 townships. There are 1,305 wards and village-tracts. Of the 45 townships. Coco Gyun Township includes Cocogyi Island, Cocolay Island. Sarpwe Island and Pariparis Island. Yangon City is the capital of the division as well as Myanmar. It is a port city. Yangon International Airport is handling international flights. Most of the government office buildings, universities and industries are situated in Yangon Division.

Forests: Evergreen forests and various kinds of trees grow on mountain ranges stretching from Bago Yoma. Marshes can be found at inundated areas in the western part. Mangroves and sand dunes with trees are located along the coats. There are over 250,000 acres of reserve forests.

Sown acreage and produce: Of the 1.4 million acres of cultivable land in the division, over 1.2 million acres are put under paddy. There are over 5.000 acres of seasonal cultivation land and nearly 200,000 acres of garden farms in the division. Main crops are paddy, corn, sesame, groundnut, sunflower, beans, jute and rubber. There are also vegetable, flower, coconut, banana and nipa palm farms.

Other products: The division has many State-owned, cooperative and private industries producing various kinds of foodstuff and social goods. Yangon is the main commercial city trading local and foreign goods. It is the centre of export and import business. There are many large fish and prawn farms in the division.

Historical sites and interesting places: In addition to Shwedagon Pagoda, which is renowned as one of the wonders of the world and the most sublime stupa for Theravada Buddhists, other famous pagodas such as Sule, Botahtaung, Meilamu. Kaba Aye, Maha Wizaya and Buddha's Tooth Relic are situated in Yangon. The city has the Zoological Garden and many beautiful parks. Letkokkon is a beautiful beach resort.

Yangon City

Traditional festivals: Religious festivals are being held town-wise or ward-wise in the division year round. Shwedagon Pagoda Pujaniya, Meilamu Pagoda Pujaniya and Thingyan Festival are famous festivals. The annually-held ceremony to confer religious titles on members of the Sangha and lay persons is also a famous ceremony.

Main construction projects: New satellite towns such as Dagon (South and North), Hlaingthaya. Shwepyitha and Shwepaukkan were built in enlarging the city. There are many industrial Zones, hotels, modern markets and large buildings in the city. Hotels such as the 20-storey Traders Hotel. Sedona Hotel, Equatorial Hotel, Mya Yeik Nyo Royal Hotel. Yangon City Hotel and Summit Parkview are famous.


Prepared by THAN TUN WIN, Embassy of the Union of Myanmar , Brussels